Monthly Archives: May 2016

Announcing the 2016 ALSCW Meringoff Writing Awards, Deadline Oct. 15

Meringoff Awards 2014

The Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers is pleased to announce three awards of $2,000 each: one in poetry, one in fiction, and one in nonfiction. Each writer may submit only one entry. All entries must be previously unpublished and must be postmarked no later than September 15, 2016. The winners will be announced in December, and the winning entries will be published in either Literary Imagination or Literary Matters. For current members of The Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers, there is no entry fee; for everyone else, membership in the ALSCW is required. The necessary information for membership can be found by clicking on “Membership” at the top of our web page or by clicking on this link. All members of the ALSCW receive the annual three issues of our flagship journal, Literary Imagination, as well as access to our newsletter and the ability to attend our conferences and local gatherings.

• For the Meringoff Poetry Award, each entry can be one poem, or a group of poems that add up to no more than 150 lines.

• For the Meringoff Fiction Award, each entry should be one story, or a chapter of a longer work, totaling no more than 25 double-spaced pages.

• For the Meringoff Nonfiction Award, each entry should be one nonfiction piece, or a chapter of a longer work, totaling no more than 25 double-spaced pages.

All entries will be judged anonymously. Please include THREE COPIES of your entry with your name, email address, postal address and phone number ON ONLY ONE OF THEM. All submissions should be postmarked not later than October 15 , 2016 to:

Stephen J. Meringoff Writing Awards
Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers
Marist Hall, The Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Avenue NE, Washington D.C. 20064

Comments Off on Announcing the 2016 ALSCW Meringoff Writing Awards, Deadline Oct. 15

Filed under Awards, Calls for Papers, General News, Site News

Our New Office Manager

We are delighted to announce that Ryan Wilson is the new Office Manager of the ALSCW headquarters in Washington, D.C.  He will also assume the editorship of Literary Matters.

Ryan, who is currently a doctoral student at The Catholic University of America, earned an M.F.A. from Boston University and an M.F.A. from Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University, where he administered the program’s Graduate Reading Series.  At CUA he has organized the Crux Poetry festival and run two reading series. He has published more than fifty poems, articles, and translations from the Latin, Spanish, and French, and is finishing a dissertation on Dante’s and T.S. Eliot’s influences on Robert Penn Warren’s poetry. Ryan was awarded the Sankey Prize for Poetry at Johns Hopkins and he won the Traum Award for literary translation at Boston University. During the last calendar year he’s published four substantial articles, including an article on Donald Justice and the New Critics (originally presented at the 2013 ALSCW conference in Athens, Georgia) that appeared in The Sewanee Review, and was subsequently awarded the Walter Sullivan Prize for Promise in Criticism by that journal. Another article won the Eleanor Clark Award from The Robert Penn Warren Circle, and also appeared in The Sewanee Review. His poetry appears widely in journals, including 32 PoemsAble MuseThe Classical Outlook, First Things, The Hopkins Review, and Iron Horse Literary Review.  In the past few years, his poems have been finalists for the River Styx International Poetry Prize (2012), the Frost Farm Prize (2015), and the Morton Marr Prize from The Southwest Review (2014, 2015), and he was also nominated for a Pushcart Prize in 2015. He has twice been a finalist for the Vassar Miller Book Award (2014, 2015).

Comments Off on Our New Office Manager

Filed under ALSCW in the Media, General News, Site News

Winners of 2015 Meringoff Writing Awards

Dear ALSCW members and friends:

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2015 Meringoff Writing Awards. The awards include a prize of $2,000 each and the possibility of publication in the Association of Literary Scholars, Critics, and Writers journal, Literary Imagination, or its newsletter, Literary Matters. The Meringoff Writing Awards are given annually for a poem, a work of fiction, and a work of creative nonfiction.

1) Non-Fiction (Judges, Vincent Kling and Matthew DeForrest)

Winner: John Koelsch for “Chapter 19 ~ Final Day (Excerpt)”  

In Vietnam, John received a Bronze Star w. “V” Device for Valor, 2 Purple Hearts, and a C.I.B. His publications include a book of Vietnam poetry If I Could Find A Way … in 2015. He’s the 2016 President of Valley Writers a Chapter of the Virginia Writers Club.

2) Fiction (Judge, Frank Blessington)

Winner: Helen Storey for “Gris, Gris” 

Helen Storey recently completed her first novel, Gris-Gris, while earning her PhD at Bath Spa University, U.K.  Her short stories and poetry have won several awards and have been published in national journals. She is currently writing a new novel and teaching writing at Pennsylvania State University. When not writing, reading, or teaching, Helen fills her time dancing, traveling, and collecting wayward dogs

3) Poetry (Judges, Mark Halliday and George Kalogeris)


Al Basile for “A Straw in the Wind” 

Al Basile is best known in the blues community worldwide as a singer/songwriter/cornetist. He has been nominated five times by the Blues Foundation for a Blues Music Award as best horn player. The first recipient of a Master’s degree in Creative Writing from Brown in 1970, he spent 25 years as a private school teacher; his poetry collection, A Lit House: 100 Poems 1975-2011 was published in 2012.

Robert B. Shaw for “Ferrying”

Robert B. Shaw is the Emily Dickinson Professor of English at Mount Holyoke College.  He is the author of Blank Verse: A Guide to Its History and Use (Ohio University Press) and of six volumes of poetry.  A new collection of poems, A Late Spring, and After, is forthcoming from Pinyon Publishing in fall, 2016.

Comments Off on Winners of 2015 Meringoff Writing Awards

Filed under Awards, General News, Site News