Joyce Carol Oates speaking at 2010 ALSCW Annual Conference

Each year, we hold an Annual Conference in a major city of North America, with panels covering a wide range of literary topics, and, often, presentations in film, music, and theater. From our first conference (held in Minneapolis in 1995) to our most recent (held at Louisiana State University in 2015), we have celebrated the art of literature and encouraged the work of scholars, critics, and writers.

Scholars and critics who have presented include Russell Berman, Marie Borroff, Jenny Clay, Dana Gioia, Frank Kermode, Bernard Knox, Jhumpa Lahiri, Ferdinand Mount, Stephen Orgel and James Wood.

Writers who have spoken at our conferences include Margaret Atwood, John Barth, Michael Collier, Stuart Dybek, Robert Fagles, Anthony Hecht, Norman Mailer, Dow Mossman, Paul Muldoon, Sigrid Nunez, Joyce Carol Oates, Francine Prose, Carl Phillips, Robert Pinsky, A.E. Stallings, C. K. Williams, Tom Wolfe and Tim Parks.

Eighteenth Annual Conference at Claremont McKenna Register Now