John Baxter

John Baxter John Baxter is Professor of English at Dalhousie University. He is the author of Shakespeare’s Poetic Styles (1980; rpr. Routledge, 2005), co-editor of Aristotle’s Poetics by George Whalley (McGill-Queen’s, 1997), and co-editor of In Defence of Adam by C.Q. Drummond (Edgeways Books, 2004). Recent articles include “Tying the Knot in Othello,” Essays in Criticism 64.3 (July 2014): 266-92 and “‘My Shakespeare, rise’: Ben Jonson’s Celebration of His Shakespeare,” Cahiers Elisabethains 90.1 (Summer 2016): 30-41. One of his favorite American poets is J.V. Cunningham: see, for example, “Shakespeare in Syllabics: J.V. Cunningham’s ‘To What Strangers, What Welcome’,” Literary Imagination 12.1 (2010): 101-08.

David Bromwich

David Bromwich David Bromwich is Sterling Professor of English at Yale University. His books include Hazlitt: the Mind of a Critic, A Choice of Inheritance, Politics by Other Means, Disowned by Memory: Wordsworth’s Poetry of the 1790s, Skeptical Music: Essays on Modern Poetry, Moral Imagination, and The Intellectual Life of Edmund Burke: From the Sublime and Beautiful to American Independence. He is a contributor to TLS, The London Review of Books, The New Republic, and The New York Review of Books.

Rosellen Brown

Rosellen Brown Rosellen Brown has published widely in magazines and her stories have appeared frequently in O. Henry Prize Stories, Best American Short Stories, and Pushcart Prizes. One is included in the best-seller Best Short Stories of the Century, edited by John Updike. Her novels include Half a Heart, Cora Fry’s Pillow Book, and Tender Mercies. She has been the recipient of an award in literature from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, the Bunting Institute, the Howard Foundation, and twice from the National Endowment for the Arts, and was selected one of Ms. Magazine’s 12 “Women of the Year” in 1984. Some Deaths in the Delta was a National Council on the Arts prize selection and Civil Wars won the Janet Kafka Prize for the best novel by an American woman in 1984.

Herbert Marks

Herbert Marks Herbert Marks is Professor of Comparative Literature at Indiana University. Alongside his work on the Hebrew Bible, including The Norton English Bible (Old Testament)--an edition with full commentary of the KJV--he has written on European and American writers from Dante to Bishop. His most recent publications are a study of the American artist Robert Yarber and an essay on the paradox of predictive prophecy (“Prophetie und Prognostik”). Ouvertures bibliques. L’Ancien Testament livre par livre is due out in 2017.

James Najarian

James Najarian James Najarian is Associate Professor of English at Boston College, where he edits the scholarly journal Religion and the Arts. He  is the author of Victorian Keats (Palgrave Macmillan, 2003) and many articles on nineteenth-century British literature. He is presently working on a study of the idea of the 'minor poet' in the nineteenth century. He is a recent winner of the Meringoff Prize and the Frost Farm Prize in Metrical Poetry.

Rebecca Rainof

Rebecca Rainoff Rebecca Rainof specializes in Victorian and Modernist literature. Her interests include Victorian visual culture, religion and literature, narrative theory, gender studies, and memoir writing. She is the author of The Victorian Novel of Adulthood: Plot and Purgatory in Fictions of Maturity and is working on a second book, tentatively titled Van Gogh and the Victorians. She teaches at Catholic University and Princeton University.

Diana Senechal

Diana Senechal Diana Senechal is the 2011 winner of the Hiett Prize in the Humanities and the author of Republic of Noise: The Loss of Solitude in Schools and Culture. She taught philosophy for five years at Columbia Secondary School in New York City and is now writing her second book.

Meg Tyler

Meg Tyler Meg Tyler was the 2016 Fulbright Professor of Anglophone Irish Writing at Queen's University in Belfast. She teaches Humanities at Boston University where she also directs a poetry series and chairs the Institute for the Study of Irish Culture. Her book on Seamus Heaney, A Singing Contest, was published by Routledge in their series, Major Literary Authors. Her poetry chapbook, Poor Earth, came out from Finishing Line Press in 2014. Her poems and prose have appeared in Agni, Literary Imagination, Kenyon Review, Harvard Review, Irish Review and other journals. A chapter on Heaney's last two volumes appears this Fall in "The Soul Exceeds Its Circumstances": The Later Poetry of Seamus Heaney, edited by Eugene O'Brien (Notre Dame University Press, 2016).

Rosanna Warren

Rosanna Warren Rosanna Warren is the Hanna Holborn Gray Distinguished Service Professor in the Committee on Social Thought at the University of Chicago. Her book of criticism, Fables of the Self: Studies in Lyric Poetry, came out in 2008. Her most recent books of poems are Departure (2003) and Ghost in a Red Hat (2011). She is the recipient of awards from the Academy of American Poets, The American Academy of Arts & Letters, the Lila Wallace Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the New England Poetry Club, among others. She was a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets from 1999 to 2005, and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the American Philosophical Society.